Episode 24

Jane Clarke

Originally from a farm in Roscommon, Jane now lives in Glenmalure, Co. Wicklow. Her first poetry collection, The River, was published by BloodaxeBooks in 2015. .In 2016 she won the Hennessy Literary Award for Emerging Poetry with three poems from The River. She also won the inaugural Listowel Writers’ Week Poem of the Year at the Irish Book Awards. The River wasshortlisted for the Royal Society for Literature Ondaatje Award, given for a distinguished work of fiction or non-fiction evoking the spirit of a place. Her second collection, When the Tree Falls,  was published by Bloodaxe Books in September 2019



  • When the Tree Falls (Bloodaxe Books, 2019)
  • All the Way Home (Smith/Doorstop, 2019)
  • The River (Bloodaxe Books, 2015)

Geraldine Mitchell

Geraldine Mitchell is an Irish writer and poet who was born in Dublin and who, since 2000, has been living on the Co. Mayo coast, close to the town of Louisburgh.

In 2008, she won the Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award and a Mayo County Council Bursary to the Tyrone Guthrie Centre. In 2011, the Arts Council of Ireland awarded her a literature bursary.

Geraldine is the author of two novels for young people and a biography and, since moving to Mayo, she has published three collections of poetry, World Without Maps and Of Birds and Bones. Her third collection, Mountains for Breakfast, was launched in March 2017.

She is part of the Writers in Schools programme, run by Poetry Ireland. She was Poetry Ambassador for Trócaire from 2012 to 2015. Since 2016 she has judged the children’s poetry competition at Dromineer Literary Festival.



  • Mountains for Breakfast (Arlen House, 2017)
  • Of Birds and Bones (Arlen House, 2014)
  • World Without Maps (Arlen House, 2011)